SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: Commercials: Xylitol White

Xylitol White – How do I put this mildly?  The costume designer for this commercial should be fired! This gives the term “wardrobe malfunction” a whole new meaning!  The commercial is cheesy, but it works.  It’s not the worst commercial I have ever seen, and its definitely memorable.  In marketing, a successful commercial elicits an emotional response, so from that standpoint, they really succeeded!  However, there’s just no excuse for putting Yuzuru into that costume.  We all have seen how good Yuzuru looks in a simple white button down shirt (see my post about Nintendo Monster Hunter 4G), but a one piece white costume with gold lace trim can only elicit one response, “OMG”, and not in a good way.  I would be interested in knowing if any of my readers actually like the white/gold costume??

IMG_8503Lotte cover

In the “making of” video footage, you will see the hair stylist come and fix every strand of hair that is out of place, making his hair look a bit too “made up”.  I think Yuzuru looks better when he musses up his own hair by himself.  : )  One thing for sure, since Yuzuru has nice teeth, he is a natural fit for this commercial!!

IMG_8501 IMG_8499 IMG_8498

At least in this photo, he looks like his normal Yuzu self.   : )

IMG_9773

When they launched this commercial, three versions of folders were available.  I suspect that this was also “buy the product, and get free Yuzuru folder with purchase” promotion.  This must be a trademark of Lotte company and its brands, since the Yuzuru folders came with purchase of the Ghana chocolate products as well.

IMG_8404

Link to the Xylitol White commercial: www.youtube.com/watch?v=IG9UKLWq4Qk

Link to interview: www.youtube.com/watch?v=byaFtrwFGqw&list=FLVMzucO94bLbF9CWlmAIvFA&index=163

NEXT: Japanese Red Cross: Love in Action

2 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: Commercials: Xylitol White

  1. Kwan Yow
    February 11, 2017

    I think the Xylitold white and gold costume is horrendous!! BTW, I have always wondered if Yuzu had his teeth reshaped or wore braces in his teens. In the videos when he was young and even in his teens, I noticed that he talked with a lipse and his teeth were certainly not as nice as they are now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      February 11, 2017

      I always wondered the same!! I suspect maybe he had invisaline braces? I had those and you couldnt see them at all.

      Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2015 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 318 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 1,236,387 hits