SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: 2017 Worlds LP and Ceremony Photos

The Men’s long program event at this year’s Worlds was absolutely thrilling!  We saw that a score of over 300 points still wasn’t enough to get you on the podium!  We saw a new world record set (YAY YUZU!!).  And, we saw the first ever all Asian podium.  The BEST part is that we saw Yuzu re-gain his World title!!

Here is Shoma’s cantilever during his short and long program.

A proud moment for Shoma at the end of his program.

To get Yuzu’s Hope and Legacy started, here is the mandatory Pooh squish and away we go!!  Did anyone breathe in the four and a half minutes??  I don’t remember breathing!

LP-8188.jpg

Spins always seem to be placed right in front of me so they were easy to shoot.

LP-0000

Biellmann spin.  Gorgeous!!

M-8305

What a stunning performance.  I am so happy to have witnessed it live in person.  The moments after Yuzu finished his performance I just looked around the arena and let the atmosphere soak in.  It was so exhilarating, not quite as fantastic as an NHL playoff home game, but you have to remember, Yuzu is just one man alone on the ice making an entire arena go wild!!  The command and power over the audience that Yuzu has is something that is hard to explain.  Imagine what it’s like to have 12,000 people watching your every move, and then you can silence them all by putting your finger to your lips or lowering your hands to tell everyone to quiet down, and EVERYONE does immediately!!  It’s a very surreal atmosphere to be a part of!  I am so happy and proud of Yuzu for finally having his “moment” at Worlds.

I hope Yuzu really thinks about his moment seriously, how fantastic it felt, what it took to get there and plans this off-season and Olympic season accordingly.  What I mean to say is that I hope he minimizes the ice-shows, and has supervised practices and does everything (minimizes travel) to stay rested and healthy.

Yuzu, as you are reviewing all offers, please remember: the shows and appearances will all still be there after 2018, probably even more so, but the one shot at repeating as the Olympic Champion will not.

LP-8567

A signal that Yuzu was back!!  At this point we still had to sit and watch the rest of the men skate.  As each skater finished their programs and received their marks, a big breath in and out was needed to stay calm!!  I recall that after Javi skated, I turned to my friend and said “I think it’s enough”.  I calculated mentally in my head what I thought Javi would get for scores and the rest is history.  What an epic comeback!

LP-8519

Medal Ceremony:

A glorious moment in the spotlight before once again, taking center stage.

LP-8935

I was fully zoomed out (rookie mistake) and wish I got the podium in this picture but Yuzu in-flight, mid air is actually a cool photo on its’ own.  If you look at the photo and the girls on the left, you see that Yuzu’s leap is at their waist height or higher and you realize how high he jumped to get onto the top of the podium!  I love Yuzu’s tradition!!

LP-9012

I adore Yuzu’s facial expression here.  There are certain expressions that Yuzu has that make him look like he is a 16 year old again.  So adorable.

LP-9077

Yuzu noticing the petals on Shoma’s flowers were falling out.

LP-9287

The victory lap.

LP-9325

Boyang having a hard time with his flag and Yuzu trying to help.

LP-9506

Boyang still needing extra help to get the Chinese flag wrapped around him.  He’s priceless.

LP-9559

Once again, we see Yuzu careful folding up the Japanese flag while Shoma just handed it back to the guy who gave it to him.  Shoma’s young, he will learn.

LP-9626

A final Thank You and Goodnight for an amazing night!!

LP-9690

Last but not least, my Gala photos will be published soon.  Please stay tuned!

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

Doki doki

9 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: 2017 Worlds LP and Ceremony Photos

  1. Tara Diane
    April 24, 2017

    There was a woman in the front row who, at the end, you could tell she was crying….and I was, too. It was stunning, and I was just so happy for him – especially after his sadness over the SP (I thought he looked ‘off’ or down even during the opening ceremony, and he looked the same at the start of the SP – I wonder what was on his mind, he just seemed sad). The crowd was so incredible, at one point the cheers were so loud you had trouble hearing the music (right after that final jump). Must feel amazing for a skater to hear all of that support!

    I doubt that I’ll ever get the chance to see him skate live in person but I can only imagine it’s ten times more wonderful.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Haleyww
    April 24, 2017

    Great photos, as usual, Thank you! When I was watching Yuzu’s long program reply in HD on Youtube, I noticed a lady in red sitting two rows behind a guy with a Pooh bear in front of him, and I thought, wow that she must be taking very nice photos from a good spot. That’s why we can enjoy all the awesome photos here!!!
    And I totally agree that I hope Yuzu can prioritize his off-season schedule. Although I got to buy the Fantasy on Ice ticket in Kobe through online drawing (Yay!!!) and really want to see Yuzu there, I do understand and support him for not attending some ice shows but focusing on preparing for the Olympic season.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      April 24, 2017

      Yup, red was me. 😊😊. Hope you have a fabulous time in Kobe!

      Like

  3. Janice
    April 25, 2017

    I love your pictures, especially the ones of Shoma Uno at the end of his free skate. You may not know this but the TV coverage was really bad. The camera shots were at odd angles. It was either too close or too far away. So when he put his little fist up at the end of his long program, the camera cut the shot off at his fist!! The american announcer said “Shoma with some swagger” but us viewers did not get the full effect.

    I must say I was a little disappointed at the end of Yuzu’s short program.I thought he’s blown it!! I never really care for his musical choices this year. I love Prince but I would have like to see him skate to purple rain. I could not get into the long program music because it was too methodical for me. However, he blew me away during the World championships long program. And yes the music has grown on me. I am so proud of Yuzu. He is truly amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      April 25, 2017

      Thank you! Oh no, I am glad you got to see Shomas full reaction then through my shots. Yuzu’s comeback could not have been sweeter. Seimei remains my all time favorite LP music selection.

      Like

  4. Cello Kid
    April 26, 2017

    I love your pictures so muchhhhhh! You caught a lot of the moments that my stream didn’t show, like the medal ceremony. I just got my tickets for Stars on Ice here in the US and my mom is letting me take her Nikon. Do you have any tips for taking pictures during a program?

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      April 27, 2017

      Hi. For competition mode, I shot in M (manual) mode and set the speed, aperature and iso. For a show it will be dark….so during Gala i set my camera to P mode…took some test shots….played with iso setting only…but let the camera do the rest (it figured out speed and aperature for me). Hope this helps.

      Like

  5. lily
    April 27, 2017

    Thank you for the wonderful post about Yuzu!

    I was there in Helsinki, and Yuzu’s free performance was just out of the world. I felt being floating on the air during his performance as if i was taken to the another dimension, or in the middle of vast nature. Yuzu’s program was structured with many difficulties, and i felt he could get more scores than that… Judges should be more awakened to what he is doing… here is the video showing those dificultiy in the program.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Yuzuru Hanyu: 2017 世界錦標賽之後 – Yuzuru Hanyu 羽生結弦 GO!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2017 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 187 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 620,019 hits
