SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: 2017 Worlds SP Photos

April is a crazy month!!  I thought things would settle down after Worlds, but trying to manage watching NHL Playoffs and Yuzu’s Monument Ceremony at the same time was a juggling act!  Good thing I am good at multi-tasking!  Fortunately for me, Yuzu’s monument unveiling ceremony happened at exactly the time when the ice was being flooded between the 2nd and 3rd period of the Flames/Ducks game!!  The Yuzu/Shizuka talk show was held after the hockey game was over, so I was blessed with perfect timing that night!!

We all know every detail of what happened during and after Yuzu’s skate.  Many fans around the world were very upset and worried, but I assured my friends that based on Brians’ comments to me, I was not worried at all.  Now, I could not have predicted the outcome and the way it happened but I did make a comment after the SP that I was still very confident in Yuzu and had not lost one ounce of faith in him to rebound.  That’s what super stars do!  And Yuzu definitely has a strong will when chasing someone in front of him.

Introductions prior to the Short Program starting.  Ready for battle.

M-6444

OK, here we go, getting set!  Mandatory squish of Poohs’ head, and go!

M-6854

Quad loop mid-air.  Nice and straight in the air, tight rotation.  Stunning landing.

M-6901

And, the spread eagle exit.

M-6917

Here is the emergency Double Toe Tano after the slightly goofed quad salchow.

M-6955

The beautiful kick after the triple axel, and the tough parts were done.

M-7048

Love the additional choreographic touch of the pounding of the fist downward to the beat of the music!!  Such a small detail that brings brilliance to the choreography.

M-7076

Still number one!

M-7221

I feel like I understand Yuzu when he skates either very well or perfectly, and still says he has to keep practising harder.  That’s the same with my venture into sports photography.  Even if I manage to get a perfect shot, I still need to practice more and more to be more consistent.  Here is my analogy.

When I am taking photos, I try to take a lot of different shots.  I compare this to a skater and their need to perform an enormous amount of repetition of a jump to master it. Over and over they jump, over and over I shoot.  Sometimes I think I’m shooting the same thing over and over but like mastering a jump, you repeat it over and over.

Sometimes I get really fuzzy photos, so I would compare this to Yuzu falling on a jump. The attempt was there, but the results were not so good.  Sometimes I miss a shot all together and this would be like Yuzu when he pops a jump.  The camera says I was way too slow, and Yuzu’s body says something wasn’t right with the jump so bail.  Sometimes I get good photos that are decent but not perfect by my standards and it would be like Yuzu landing a quad jump with a scratchy landing.

Yuzu constantly modifies his programs over the course of a season and refines his steps entering into his jumps, and/or his choreography.  When I am taking pictures, I need to fine tune the exposure and speed that I shoot picture with to make the photos better for the next time.

As Yuzu has mentioned, every arena is different.  The ice feels different, the atmosphere is different.  Every time I try to take pictures in a different arena, the lighting is different and I have to adjust.  Like Yuzu, I always want perfection.  It’s hard.  I get it.

M-7329

So, like Yuzu, I will keep practising and practising.  I hope that people who read my blog will enjoy this journey with me too!

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

Doki doki

6 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: 2017 Worlds SP Photos

  1. Haleyww
    April 17, 2017

    Your photos are sharp and focused (like Yuzu’s step sequence : ) ), especially the jumping ones, very impressive! And I like the analogy about keeping practicing for perfection! Go Yuzu Go!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mairuiwo
    April 17, 2017

    Thank you for your sharing! i really love these high quality photos and your effort on taking photos is inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kwan Yow
    April 17, 2017

    Thank you! I also noticed his fist pumping during his spins! He always have an interesting variations with his hand positions during his marvellous spins!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo Dewar
    April 17, 2017

    Love your photos. Yuzuru’s short program was electrifying, I thought! I didn’t start the season loving it, but I ended the season thoroughly enjoying it. Had that not been a competition, everyone would have gone home happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2017 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 591,359 hits
