SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: 2017 Worlds SP Priceless Moment

2017 World Figure Skating Championships Men’s Event.  The premiere event of the this years’ Championships.  All fans from around the world eagerly anticipated the last flight of men to come out for their short program, even these cute little guys I spotted watching from the front row:

M-6168

 

Everyone remembers this special moment during Let’s Go Crazy right?  If you didn’t see it, then you probably heard it, the sound of 10,000+ fans screaming when Yuzu flashed by us, egging us on to Get Crazy about the program!

Well, that’s me in the red, behind the camera, taking the photo!  I took this screen shot from the little video posted on twitter (thanks to @Irene7minutes for posting this!)  I had a great angle on this.

Yuzu moment shot by me

Source: https://twitter.com/Irene7minutes/status/851093327420170240/video/1

Everyone that went to Worlds probably has their own special Worlds moment.  A moment that stands out brilliantly in your mind, etched forever in our memories.  Yuzu’s moment was probably the precise second the music to Hope and Legacy ended.

As a rookie photographer, my Worlds moment was “Holy Beep, did I get that shot????” Yuzu was coming at us so fast and I had that momentary panic wondering if I was zoomed in too close and not going to get a clear shot of it!  The hardest part was that I could not check it until Yuzu was done his program, received his marks and had left the Kiss & Cry area. Once Yuzu went behind the scenes, I then frantically searched and found this on my camera – thank you skating and photography gods!!

Here is my Worlds special moment!!  Ok, I have a few more, but this is one of my absolute favorite moments!

M-Yuzu moment

 

More Yuzu and mens photos to come….

 

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

Doki doki

10 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: 2017 Worlds SP Priceless Moment

  1. Haleyww
    April 11, 2017

    I was bored in a lecture so I checked your blog. How wonderful that you captured this moment!
    When I was watching the game, the camera angle was on the back and I thought ” was that a ‘flowery face’ ” and melted in the couch. : D

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vspirit000
    April 11, 2017

    nice. that’s some nifty shutter work you’ve got there. that look on his face always struck me as somewhat apologetic, tho. not sure why.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      April 11, 2017

      Thanks. Ya, was surprised a bit at the expression (same for all three frames of it) but super happy and thankful for the moment!

      Like

  3. Iris
    April 12, 2017

    Wow! You’re so lucky to catch this moment! You cannot imagine how angry I was when I was watching tv and the camera just missed this moment!! It probably will never repeat again… But who knows, Yuzu always surprises us.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nina
    April 12, 2017

    Thanks for your report and beautiful photos. It was a very exciting week full of memories. I was there too. I am so happy to see Yuzuru skate two beautiful programs. And won the gold medal.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Krystyne
    April 13, 2017

    Pooh Bear 1: Oh yeah! We’re lucky that we got the front seats!!
    Pooh Bear 2: We can finally watch our King up close!
    lol I’m sorry, I just had to XD You’re really lucky to be able to get a shot of Yuzu and as well as watch him skate live! Even those stuff bears beated my luck lmao Thanks for sharing this to us! 。^‿^。

    Liked by 1 person

  6. yasz
    April 13, 2017

    He looked so sad doesn’t he? Thankfully missing the combo jump didn’t affect him too much even though from the look of it, he’s clearly devastated.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Konami
    April 14, 2017

    OMG!!! You got that moment!!!
    I was knocked out when I saw that Yuzu’s super cute
    pose and really hoping someone took the photo from front!!
    This photo is truly priceless. You did great job! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2017 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 212 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 725,309 hits
