SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

2017 World Figure Skating Championships: Ladies Photos

Up next, the women!  First a Thank You to Mao Asada for her wonderful performances over the years!!  Hearing news of her retirement today was not unexpected but surprising that it came so early (I thought she would wait until after next seasons Japan Nationals if she didn’t make the Olympic team).  I wish her well in whatever her future brings her.

Back to Worlds in Helsinki.  I am super happy about the Canadian women placing 2nd and 3rd!!  Way to make history for Canada Kaitlyn and Gabby!!

None of the photos on this blog entry have been cropped.  I am super excited about that.

W-0559

Kaitlyn Osmond

 

Maria was like the forgotten Russian lady in this event.  While all the spotlight was on Evgenia, and later Anna for her disastrous long program, I hadn’t really thought about Sotskova until I saw this photo of her.

W-4381

Maria Sotskova

 

Rika looked like she wanted to be anywhere but in Helsinki the entire week.  Her practices were rough, and I wasn’t sure she was going to be able to pull it off.  She did her best though, and I was so happy to see Riverdance again!

W-4497

Rika Hongo

 

Evgenia was on fire every practice.  Triple, triple, triple, then triple, triple triple in combination!  Then, triple, tano triple.  It was never ending.  So, when she actually did a spin, I was like “hey, a spin!”.

W-4458

Evgenia Medvedeva

 

Here is a triple, triple mid-flight on the second triple.  There was one single moment in all of the three practices where I actually saw Medvedeva miss a triple!!  My eyes popped wide open and my thought was “wait, what?”.  It was such a unusual moment that I had to rub my weary eyes to make sure I had seen it!  But, she conferred with her coach, then bam, another triple, triple.  I think we should start calling her TTT.  

W-4439

 

At the other side of the rink was Mai Mihara who was also giving a clinic on triple jumps. This fall was actually her just skating backwards and tripping.  It was funny and cute.

W-0606

Mai Mihara

 

Mai is quickly becoming one of my favorite female skaters for the next quad (ie; Beijing).

W-0604

Mai Mihara

 

Anna was in the mix after the short but no one could have predicted what happened in her long program.  She had overcome her inconsistency problems and her “Pogo” falls over the last season so it was a shocker to see that side of her come back. Everyone’s heart went out to her as she was so emotional at the end of her program.  Not really sure what happened during the program, but the Pogo falls were back and it was like they were trying to make up for lost time.  It was so sad.

W-4364

Anna Pogorilaya

 

Not sure what to say about Ashley.  Fans either love her or hate her.  Truth be told, I didn’t pay much attention to her all week so this is my only Ashley shot.

W-0511

Ashley Wagner

 

I wish I had the front view of this photo but Karen has the Michelle Kwan spiral which is gorgeous!!

W-0533

Karen Chen

 

Karen Chen mid-flight on a triple loop.

W-0528

Karen Chen

 

Tiny Tursyn held her own on the practice ice.  She seemed to have gotten over her early season inconsistency at Worlds.

W-0572

Elizabet Tursynbayeva

 

Now to the Gala.  It looks like I didn’t take any photos during the actual women’s’ event.  Oops, oh well, I think I got a few good ones here.

W-0217

Kaitlyn Osmond

 

I don’t think there is a skater in the women’s field today that does not do a Biellman? Here is a stunning one from Medvedeva.

W-0478

Evgenia Medvedeva

 

The control Evegnia demonstrates with this move is pretty incredible.  Oh what I would give to be this flexible!

W-0457

Evgenia Medvedeva

 

Mai was the darling of the ladies event.  If she hadn’t had that one small slip up in the short program, I wonder what the final results would have been.  Just goes to show you that you can win or lose it in the short program (well, Yuzu is the exception and he proved it in this Worlds, but generally speaking of course).

W-9991

Mai Mihara

 

Hard to believe that Mai has been diagnosed with arthritis.  But, being active and having the best medical attention will certainly help her manage it.

W-9957

Mai Mihara

 

So those are my ladies photos.  Next up, the men!!  Then of course, my Yuzu post!

Here is a link to my Dance and Pairs photos if you missed it:

https://sportymags.wordpress.com/2017/04/08/2017-world-figure-skating-championships-pairs-and-dance-photos/

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

Doki doki

3 comments on “2017 World Figure Skating Championships: Ladies Photos

  1. Vivian
    April 10, 2017

    Mai is slowly climbing up in my list too.. it’s lovely to see her skate to her FS in Worlds! she has potential. Anyway, can’t wait for you to write about Yuzu, im still deep inside the happiness of Yuzu got back his World title haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo Dewar
    April 10, 2017

    Great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haleyww
    April 10, 2017

    I’m also surprised and sad to see the news of Mao’s retirement. She and Yuna were the reason I got into watching figure skating many years ago. And I always thought that Mao could bounce back some time and make to another Olympics.
    Mai indeed caught my attention in this ladies event and I enjoyed her long program performance.
    Now cue the drum roll… because you’re saving the best for last!
    I will check in later : ) Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2017 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 668,212 hits
