SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

2017 World Figure Skating Championships: Pairs and Dance Photos

I made it home safe and sound!  I’m exhausted but grateful for such a fantastic, amazing experience in Helsinki!  Does it get any better than this?  Uh, NO!  To make a very long week short, I want to share the sights and sounds of my Worlds experience through pictures.

During this Worlds I tried to be an equal opportunity photographer.  Ha ha.  Normally I take a ton of photos of only Yuzu, but I also wanted to capture many of the other skaters as well, so I hope you enjoy the photos.  My Yuzu photos are coming soon…..

First of all, I upgraded my equipment from the Sony RX10 Mark II that I used last year at Worlds in Boston to the Canon EOS 7D Mark II.  I threw on a 70-200mm lens and was ready to go.  This was like jumping from a Toyota to a Porsche.  Worlds in Helsinki was my first time with this new camera so I was quite nervous about all the settings but I think I did ok.

Dance: To start with, I didn’t take any Dance photos during the competition – oops.  I only took a few shots of Dance during the Gala, so here are just a couple shots from the Gala.

D-0347

Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron

Unfortunately, this one of Tessa and Scott is not super crispy clear, but I like the shot anyways.

D-0496

Tess Virtue and Scott Moir

Pairs Practice: I found Pairs the hardest to photograph and I am just starting to learn about adjusting the focal points.  Here are my favorite shots from practice.

P-4601

Aliona Savchenko and Bruno Massot

P-4648

Ksenia Stolbova and Fedor Klimov

Nice height on the throw triple twist.  This is my 2nd favorite throw triple twist (see Aliona and Bruno below for #1).

P-4660

Evgenia Tarasova and Vladimir Morozov

Massive height and distance on the throw triple loop.  Given that Evgenia is above the boards, the force of the impact on the landing leg of these throw jumps is just incredible.

P-4675

Evgenia Tarasova and Vladimir Morozov

 

P-4717

Ksenia Stobova and Fedor Klimov

Julian and Charlie just coming around the corner.

P-4737

Julian Seguin and Charlie Bilodeau

Pairs Competition: Even though Canada didn’t repeat as World Champions, I am thrilled with the final podium results, and so happy for Sui and Han!!  After the 2 foot surgeries Sui went through just last season, they came back and their programs were brilliant!

P-7653

Sui Wenjing and Cong Han

They are super adorable and you could feel the intensity of the crowd willing them on to victory during their free skate!

P-7627

Sui Wenjing and Cong Han

Aliona has had 2 amazing partners: Robin Szolkowy and now Bruno Massot.  At 33 years old, the next Olympics will be her 4th.  A 5-time World Champion, Aliona is one of the most decorated women in the pairs event.

P-7559

Aliona Savchenko and Bruno Massot

P-7557

Aliona Savchenko and Bruno Massot

The #1 split triple twist in the business!  After 2 years of trying to capture Aliona and Bruno’s split triple twist (Bruno always throws her out of my viewfinder), I finally got it! She is fearless, look at the height!

P-7545

Aliona Savchenko and Bruno Massot

Yu is so delicate.  Her and Zhang were a bit overshadowed by Sui/Han at this Worlds.

P-7537

Xiaoyu Yu and Hao Zhang

After a freak accident in practice, Evgenia had to get 12 stitches in her leg as Vladimir’s skate blade cut her.  They were not sure if they were going to be able to skate but she toughed it out, and they skated beautifully.  Such an emotional end to their program!

P-7514

Evgenia Tarasova and Vladimir Morozov

Eric was also hurt during this Worlds and unfortunately Canada did not make the podium this year.

P-4812

Megan Duhamel and Eric Radford

P-4789

Megan Duhamel and Eric Radford

This is absolutely my favorite photo of Megan.  She is so tough!

P-4786

Megan Duhamel and Eric Radford

Pairs Gala: Sui/Han and Duhamel/Radford were the only pairs I took photos of during the Gala.   The Gold Medalists, Sui/Han!

P-0438

Sui/Han

P-0429

Sui/Han

P-0301

Duhamel/Radford

P-0276

Duhamel/Radford

I sure hope these photos render ok on the wordpress site.  None of these photos have been cropped which I kinda take pride in as I’m getting better at tracking, it’s hard!  The Dance and Pairs were like my warmup for my Womens, Mens, and Yuzu posts coming soon!

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

IMG_3098

15 comments on “2017 World Figure Skating Championships: Pairs and Dance Photos

  1. Haleyww
    April 8, 2017

    I like the photos! you keep getting better at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      April 8, 2017

      I can’t wait to post my womens and mens…they get better!!

      Like

  2. Pammi 3011
    April 8, 2017

    Brilliant photos! Cant wait for the men’s event pics 😃 (…..especially Yuzu……….and Shoma……..and Javi……..and Jason……and, oh I’ll stop now!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been binge reading your blog…needless to say, I love it! The pictures are amazing as well

    Liked by 1 person

  4. smal58
    April 9, 2017

    I was missing you¡¡¡… waiting about your Helsinki’s experiences¡¡…:)… good photos.. Aliona on air is fantastic¡¡……. I’m crazy to know your feelings about “THE MOMENT”…. Yuzu’s Full program……:)………. Cheers….:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      April 9, 2017

      😊😊❤️. Yes trying to get through all photos and write up my experience as soon as possible. It was such a long week and so much to review. Wonderful memories!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jo Dewar
    April 9, 2017

    Your photos are amazing! I am envious of your skills! Still shots like these allow us to realize fully just how astounding the skaters really are.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gabu
    April 9, 2017

    Hey! It’s super nice to see your photos turned out well! Keep up the good work and looking forward to seeing your work from men’s competition! ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ecovail
    April 9, 2017

    Good to hear that you got home safe.
    As you were saying that was absolutely a fantastic event and I was so happy to be there to experience it. Does it get any better that this? Seriously not!
    The gala was amazing too. Enjoyed all the photos you put here. Thanks dor sharing! I am still feeling a little bit “dreaming!”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 2017 World Figure Skating Championships: Ladies Photos | SportyMags

  9. Ryan
    April 10, 2017

    Some of them are missing but Im so excited for the rest!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2017 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 212 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 725,309 hits
