SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: Figure Skating Jumps 101

Long, long ago (in a galaxy far, far away), I had a Samsung Galaxy Note 7 phone.  I loved that phone!!  For the record, my battery never overheated, never really even got warm.  I was sad to have to let it go.  I especially loved that fact that I could just use the little stylus pen and make gifs on the fly just by touching the phone screen, of any videos I took on the phone!!  It was so easy and fun!

During the 2016 Autumn Classic in Montreal, I happened to take a number of small practice videos of Yuzu on my phone and found that I basically had a complete collection of figure skating jumps by Yuzu.

Before I had to give up the phone, I made gifs of those brilliant moments so here is my “Yuzu: Figure Skating Jumps 101″ training blog entry.  This set of gifs are like a skating technical clinic on “how to”, done by Yuzu.  I think I would have been a much better skater if I had these videos to review when I was a kid.  The imagery of Yuzu’s perfect jumps does wonders!

*All video and gifs were recorded/made by me.  Please do NOT repost the gifs without permission or remove the watermark.

Single Axel:  Yuzu started doing a single axel as a deliberate jump in practice this season, this is the most stunning axel I have ever seen!  The size of this jump and body control is beautiful!

Yuzu single axel

 

3A-1Lo-3S Combo:  Effortless combination jump!  Serious control throughout.  It’s as natural as breathing for Yuzu.

Yuzu 3A 1Lo 3S combo SM

 

Quad Salchow:  During this practice, it was one of his most consistent jumps.  When I first started learning double salchows, my coach taught me to drive through the takeoff leading with my heel first in order to transfer my weight, and you can see Yuzu doing this here.

Yuzu quad Salchow SM

 

4S-3T Combo:  This is the quad salchow, triple toe combination jump that makes you suck in and hold your breathe at every competition.  Here in practice, simply effortless!  I love the arm movement at the end of the jump, like “BAM”, there you go!  Love it!!!

Yuzu 4S 3T combo SM

 

Quad Toe Loop:  Looking good!!  Taking a page from Cover Girl’s tag line, its “Easy, Breezy, Beautiful…, Quad Toe!”

Yuzu quad toe SM

 

Triple Loop: Yuzu was warming up for his Quad Loop but during this particular practice I only captured a triple loop.  Had I know at the time that I was going to do this post, I would have paid more attention and took more practice video that day.  I do have video of his very first successful quad loop ever (at AC Montreal) during the SP but I will post that some other time.

Triple Loop SM

 

Triple Flip:  I wish I had a video of the absolutely gorgeous huge triple flips Yuzu was doing earlier in this practice, but this is the only one I captured.  While Yuzu’s landing isn’t GOE +3 flawless in this one, this Autumn Classic (Montreal) is where I saw the huge improvement of Yuzu’s triple flips (clean edge, height, distance covered).

Triple flip SM

 

For those wondering what the difference is between a Flip and a Lutz, it is the edge from which the jump takes off on.  The Flip takes off on an inside edge, and the Lutz takes off from an outside edge.

Triple Lutz:  It’s crazy that we are in a time where a triple lutz is “just a triple lutz” now. However, that does not take away the beauty that is Yuzu’s jump.  Soon we may see Yuzu add his quad lutz (perhaps next season) so right now we can just appreciate how easy Yuzu makes this jump look.  You can also see the extra time he has at the end of the jump when he is unwrapping, so adding an additional rotation for Yuzu would not be that difficult for him on this jump.

Yuzu triple lutz SM

 

Clapping at the end of a good practice (for everyone):  Such an adorable skater!!  Yuzu was looking good, skating well, and at this moment, everything was right in the world!! His little smile at the end makes it all worth it!

Yuzu clapping when done SM

 

Note that all of these gifs were made from videos I took during a single practice session at Autumn Classic in Montreal. Hopefully someday I can update this post with all of Yuzu’s quads but it would be very hard to get them all within just one practice session.  We were very lucky to see his amazing practice that day!

I hope you enjoyed my gifs and Yuzu’s figure skating jumps training 101 session!

PS: Special thanks to a friend who helped me figure out how to make the one remaining gif I needed to make without my magic phone.

 

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

Doki doki

 

11 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: Figure Skating Jumps 101

  1. sophia
    March 19, 2017

    Thank you very much for your leaving all these beautiful jumps gifs. This is a kind of a Standard Jump Samples to show for every skaters who are learning how to. Yes, many young skaters, especially Men, certainly looked at his jumps thoroughly to get acqauinted with the method, and that made them relatively easily learn their quads earlier. Yuzu never worried about showing his techniques and even encouraged them to follow him. How lovely person he is!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. vspirit000
    March 19, 2017

    nice. but what happened to your g7note?

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      March 19, 2017

      Samsung had a global recall on this model due to exploding batteries issue and it is banned from all airplanes, illegal etc….

      Like

      • vspirit000
        March 22, 2017

        ohhhh that was *that* model? im sorry it had to go then. but it was probably for the best. hope the one you’re using now is at least satisfactory.

        Liked by 1 person

      • sportymags
        March 22, 2017

        Yup! I have a S7 edge now which is pretty nice but its not the same as the Note 7. I look forward to the new S8 that is coming out soon. 😊

        Like

  3. Penelope
    March 19, 2017

    Wow thank you for this post!! I liked seeing Yuzu’s jumps, and I’m especially wowed by the quality of his 3F. It’s gotten a lot better 🙂
    And I didn’t know Samsung Galaxy Note 7’s were that cool! Would you recommend buying one?

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      March 19, 2017

      Samsung global recall due to exploding batteries on this model put a small damper on it but I loved mine. It was a super cool phone but is now illegal on airplanes!!
      Hopefully they will put the same functionality on the new Galaxy Note 8 that is coming out soon!! I can’t wait! I would recommend…yes. 😊

      Like

  4. JustRozy
    March 19, 2017

    Thank you so much, SportyMags! I could watch these all day–that brilliant energy, line, purity of motion–it’s too much. So kind of you to make these and share!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Haleyww
    March 22, 2017

    Yuzu’s jumps are so enjoyable to look at! Thank you for the gif compilation!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jackie
    April 1, 2017

    wow- well done capturing those. So amazing to watch him in action. It’s too bad his quad salchow isn’t as consistent in competition as it is here. That’s his biggest issue at the point- funny how this season started with that strong jump and a not-so good quad loop. Now he does it and it’s solid and impressive

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2017 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 194 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 631,088 hits
