SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: Autumn Classic 2016 Photos

Looking through my photos from the Autumn Classic this year, Yuzu appeared either cute, adorable or happy in every photo.  It has to be against the law to be this photogenic.

I struggled a bit with the lighting at the Sportplexe because of the flourescent lights but here are some of my favorite shots.  Like Yuzu, I will keep practising to improve.

**Please do not repost the photos anywhere without permission.

02471

 

As usual, watching Yuzu master his craft was pure joy!!  I could sit all day everyday just watching him practice.  He’s got some work to do but it’s still very early in the season. Yuzu was doing this “point to his head” motion each time he goofed up on a jump knowing he just had to get it together and then he would be successful.

02687

There are these moments where he lets his guard down and just relaxes and smiles.  It is such a reward to be able to capture these moments.

06680-2

Yuzu being Yuzu!  I try to imagine how Yuzu feels when he appears in the open because all he hears is the sound of motor drives snapping up his every move, his every blink of an eye.  I once read an article that said that Japanese skaters are very camera aware.  For younger, lesser known skaters, this is good so they don’t get captured in an awkward moment, but for Yuzu, this is a bit of an understatement.  With hundreds and hundreds of cameras all raised at him, he can’t help but be aware.  Yuzu cannot sniff or cough without it being captured on film or camera.  It’s quite an incredible sight to see this, and of course, now I am one of those camera faces in the crowd.

07292

I guess I didn’t take that many photos during his short program so here I am “jumping” to the long program.  Here is Yuzu getting ready to take center stage and do what he loves.

ms-08178

Yuzu going through his normal pre-skate rituals.  He no longer pushes forcefully back from the boards.  He now just does a small push and soft glide.  I prefer the stronger push back as it projects determination, fight and Yuzu being “in the zone”!  I hope to see it come back once he is more comfortable with his new programs.

ms-08236

Just a couple of basic photos here.

ms-08270ms-08364

Whenever Misha is near, there is fun to be had. I was fortunate enough to meet Misha  in the stands and chat with him briefly.  I didn’t know what to expect, but I found Misha to be very welcoming and genuine!  He invites you in to his space without any effort, it was very surprising and sweet and I see why he has so many fans.

ms-08634

After the medal ceremony, there was such an unexpected triple axel attempt and fall that I almost missed the moment!!  Thank goodness I didn’t!!

08759-2

Misha to the rescue!  Love how adorable and playful Yuzu was after the medal ceremony! Priceless moments!!

08777

The original of this last photo turned out quite dark so I had a friend help me with lightening it up a bit.  She does not follow skating, but knows more and more about Yuzu through me.  Her comment about this photo after she fixed it was that Yuzu was like a porcelain doll.  Interesting to hear the viewpoint of someone that does not follow skating at all.  She is now a Yuzu fan!

Bye Bye Yuzu!!!  See you in Mississauga!!

ms-08906-2

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

Doki doki

16 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: Autumn Classic 2016 Photos

  1. Anita
    October 19, 2016

    Thank you for such beautiful photos of Yuzu!! You’ve become such an accomplished photographer!! Congratulations!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      October 19, 2016

      Awe, thank you so much!!! I am still practising and hope to get even better. My only limitation is that I am not using professional gear…I so wish I could…

      Like

  2. Jackie
    October 19, 2016

    Love how you have all these great pictures and some cool captions to describe them. It’s interesting how all skaters have different rituals to “get in the zone” before taking center ice.
    Nearly all my favorite skaters, I got to know during the Sochi Olympics. Although Misha was in one of the earlier groups, there was something about him that was so captivating to watch. Something special. And I’m always disappointed when they broadcast skating events on TV and Misha is never shown because he’s not in the final group. Hopefully getting a medal here is a sign that he might break through this season. He’d replied to me a couple times on Twitter [one conversation was about skaters doing quads & having great artistry and he lamented there seemed to be few of those greats left competing], but that’s still not as cool as your experience 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      October 19, 2016

      Thanks!! Michsa’s dad helped me take a picture with him too…since I am horrible at selfies. Super nice, both of them!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ecovail
    October 19, 2016

    Hello from Japan again.
    How are you?

    I was waiting to read your new post.
    Thank you for sharing these photos.
    A lot of people write about Yuzu, but your blog is something special to me.

    Probably your deep knowledge of Figure Skating and passion for Yuzu make me feel so into your blog.

    Anyways,

    >It has to be against the law to be this photogenic.

    I looooved this quote. lol.

    >He no longer pushes forcefully back from the boards.  He now just does a small push and soft glide.  I prefer the stronger push back as it projects determination, fight and Yuzu being “in the zone”!  I hope to see it come back once he is more comfortable with his new programs.


    Interesting! I didn`t realized that. I hope he will be able to be [in the zone] at Skace Canada to have a strong push!

    I am being Doki Doki everyday to think about his next skating.

    You are going to go to Mississauga too.
    How great that is and waiting to hear from you again!

    Take care.
    Love Ecovail.

    Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Trang NLT
    October 20, 2016

    Thank you so much for such beautiful moments!
    As someone who can only wait for new photos of him on the Internet every day, they’re treasure ^^
    I wonder if it’s okay for me to upload them on my personal Facebook account? It’s just a habit of uploading at least one of his photo everyday to fill my wall with happiness! I will credit you properly. I understand if you don’t like the idea though ^^
    Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      October 20, 2016

      Thank you very much for asking, yes please go ahead. Crediting the source is very appreciated. 😊

      Like

      • Trang NLT
        October 21, 2016

        Thank you! 🙌

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Jo de Souza (@JodeSouza64)
    October 20, 2016

    Thank you for the beautiful photos. He always gave us great texts about Yuzuru, now all your photos became more perfect and complete.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yuzurist-Japan
    October 26, 2016

    Thank you so much for your photos, especially cute ones with Misha and Yuzu. Not everything is broadcasted on TV, so I really enjoy seeing little funny moments of skaters. It is a pity that we don’t have a chance to see Misha on TV (in Japan), for I know he is poplular among foreign fans.
    By the way, it is true that Yuzu is like a “doll”. I haven’t seen him in person, but I saw his accurate wax figure in Tokyo. His body looks more beautiful than I imagined. I always thought he was so skinny, but actually his body is beautifully compact.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kwok Kwan Yow
    November 4, 2016

    I have always wondered if Yuzu ever get agitated with so many cameras invading his privacy! BTW, who always follows him and takes his pictures when he is not in public?

    Like

    • sportymags
      November 4, 2016

      Ya the media takes it a bit too far sometimes, like filming him when he is trying to change his costume. We have also seen footage of fans chasing and blocking his bus before. Hence his need for security. I am sure he gets tired of it but knows its part of being a rock star in Japan.

      Like

      • Kwan Yow
        November 4, 2016

        Thanks for sharing these “moment” pictures with us though. We can never get enough of Yuzu. I hope to see him push out forcefully from the board again. It tells me he is confident and ready for the fight!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Kathy
    December 10, 2016

    Love your photos. You were able to capture such cute moments. I found the video on youtube. After falling, Yuzu redeemed himself by jumping again not once but twice! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2016 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 198 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 647,696 hits
