SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: 2016 Worlds Long Program

And finally, my last photo diary blog entry of the 2016 Worlds in Boston.  The day that everyone was waiting for in March, the Mens Long Program!

By the time the final group was set to skate, the frenzy of anticipation in the crowd had reached its peak.  The final group came on the ice and with a hint of Seimei peaking out from under the sleeves of Yuzu’s warm up jacket, we were ready to go!!

DSC07939

 

At the beginning of the six minute warmup, everything seemed normal.  Everyone was anticipating an epic performance from Yuzu given that he nailed the short program earlier.  When I look at these photos now, with the knowledge of how Yuzu felt physically and mentally, I look at his face, and I see something different.  Yuzu knew it was going to be a struggle.

DSC08021

 

During the six minute warm-up, at one end of the rink, Yuzu’s triple axels looked good, his takeoffs were solid and the landings were beautiful and smooth.

DSC08048

 

At the other end of the rink, the quads were given him a bit of trouble but after a couple attempts, they were back to being spectacular.  How well he hid the pain is unbelievable.

DSC08093

 

During the whole warmup I was busy willing Yuzu to be successful.  In reviewing my photos more carefully now, months later, I can’t help but notice a different expression in Yuzu’s face.

DSC08124

 

The normal sparkle, and the twinkle in his eyes just weren’t there on this day.  He looked tired and almost sad in a way.  Of course, hindsight is 20/20 but every picture I looked at, he looked like he needed a hug.

DSC08190

 

Usually you see a look of fierce determination on his face and especially in his eyes.  This night, the fight was still there, and you could see it in his effort, but the lightness and the usual magic just wasn’t part of that night.

DSC08192

 

I wondered if I was mistaking sadness for concentration but we all see what we want to see.  When I look at the photos now, I can almost feel the pain in his foot.  Yuzu had a different look than fierce concentration.  Yes, it is easy to say that now with all the news that came out afterwards, but it all makes sense now that we know he was fighting through an injury.

DSC08236

 

When his name was called, and he went through his normal pre-skate rituals, his push off backwards from the boards was not as fast and strong, not as confident.   If you watch older videos of him pushing away from the boards you will know what I mean.  That night, he pushed away and just did a slow glide backwards.   Now, this could mean absolutely nothing but looking back, he just didn’t have that powerful “LET’S GO!!” moment.

Later, Yuzu said that he couldn’t get a good feel the ice (until the exhibition).  I know that feeling.  Your edges just don’t feel like they are gripping quite right, the ice feels foreign.

DSC08255

 

Right after the initial circle at the beginning of Seimei, I put my camera down.

DSC08312

 

I don’t have to re-watch what happened that night to remember vividly, the feelings I had when Yuzu’s first quad Salchow was not perfect.  The sound of 18,000 gasps is not a sound a person forgets that easily.  It wasn’t a major error but I do recall thinking to myself that something didn’t look right with Yuzu but at that moment I had no way of knowing what would unfold.  But, with Yuzu sometimes a minor mistake at the beginning is enough of a jolt to make him skate cleanly throughout the rest of the program.  On that night, it wasn’t.

Near the end of his program, I sat in a bit of disbelief, wondering if it was real.  When the marks came up, it was like a bad dream.  My heart went out to Yuzu.  It was over, and it wasn’t enough.  By all standards, many other skaters would have loved to have that performance, but by Yuzu standards it was not up to par.

DSC08326

 

In this photo diary, there are no pictures of the mens’ podium.  I reviewed my photos and since my seats were on the same side as the podium I didn’t really get any great shots. Also, true to my own heart, I do not like to post podium pictures where Yuzu is not on top.

So, when the medalists had to pose for their “after” photos, I got to move down a bit closer on my side and get some better shots.

DSC08774

 

This is the only time I saw a light hearted smile that evening from Yuzu.  Again, my heart still went out to him.  He had wanted it so badly.

I absolutely love Yuzu’s blooper moments!!  Here he discovers that he is facing the wrong way!!  How cute is he!!!

DSC08851

 

This is one of my most favourite photos of Yuzu from Worlds.  This moment pretty much says it all.  I am so happy I captured this moment albeit I wish it was a different moment.

DSC08864

 

Even when Yuzu’s down, he is still simply adorable.  Trying to get the flag off after the photos were done, he gets all tangled in it.

DSC08881

 

The flag just doesn’t want to let Yuzu go!

DSC08884

 

Another fan posted a series of beautiful photos of Yuzu folding the Japanese flag from the front angle.  I have the same photos but from a different angle.  While there are quite a few shots in the series of him folding the flag, I chose these next two based on what they said to me about Yuzu.

DSC08915

The care and attention to the Japanese flag, the respect that Yuzu gave to it shows a lot about his character, and the love for his country.   It reminds me of the time in a post competition interview where he was carrying the flag, he asked someone to hold onto it, not willing to put it on the floor.

His attention to details, making sure it’s folded neatly, is just like how he pays attention to every little detail in his programs, in his life.  He shows such respect for the icon.

DSC08918

 

As Yuzu says his goodbye, I just wanted to give him a big hug.  He looked so sad, it was heart wrenching.  Getting the World title back would simply had to wait until next season.

DSC08959

 

Having closed that chapter now, I’m sure Yuzu is going to be back this season with new quads, wonderful new programs, and a desire to win more than ever.  I am so excited to see what this season brings!!

 

If you have missed any of the previous 2016 Worlds photo diary entries or my regular blog entries, here is the link to the rest of my blog entries:

https://sportymags.wordpress.com/

 

See you at the Autumn Classic!!!

 

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

Doki doki

8 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: 2016 Worlds Long Program

  1. Janice
    September 5, 2016

    Thanks for the photos. I can’t wait to next season. It is already September so we don’t have long to go. Hopefully Yuzu will have chance a to redeem himself. I just hope his foot heals in time enough. Has anybody heard how it is doing. I can’t find anything new on the Internet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo de Souza (@JodeSouza64)
    September 5, 2016

    I got in a rare opportunity to see the live competition here in Brazil.
    Needless to say I was awake made an owl waiting.
    When Yuzuru entered this time something was different, I felt, but I put that feeling aside; after all I was with him a little while and convinced me it was just a silly impression.
    I prepared to cheer with heart in hand, and when he unfortunately my impressions were certain something was wrong.
    My heart broke during and after his presentation I did not want to see but could not help Yuzuru there alone, despite knowing that there were thousands of people in various parts of the world supports it.
    Now we know what happened and a new termporada is starting.
    I will twist as always; sometimes having to wait for the videos posted by Yuzuru fans who never fail to help those who are far away and sometimes can assitir by live television Yuzuru compete.
    I’m praying, hoping and hoping that this season will be wonderful for Yuzuru and he will remain happy and healthy.
    Thanks for testo and the photos.

    Like

  3. Jo de Souza (@JodeSouza64)
    September 5, 2016

    I got in a rare opportunity to see the live competition here in Brazil.
    Needless to say I was awake made an owl waiting.
    When Yuzuru entered this time something was different, I felt, but I put that feeling aside; after all I was with him a little while and convinced me it was just a silly impression.
    I prepared to cheer with heart in hand, and when he unfortunately my impressions were certain something was wrong.
    My heart broke during and after his presentation I did not want to see but could not help Yuzuru there alone, despite knowing that there were thousands of people in various parts of the world supports it.
    Now we know what happened and a new termporada is starting.
    I will twist as always; sometimes having to wait for the videos posted by Yuzuru fans who never fail to help those who are far away and sometimes can assitir by live television Yuzuru compete.
    I’m praying, hoping and hoping that this season will be wonderful for Yuzuru and he will remain happy and healthy.
    Thanks for the text and the pictures.

    Like

  4. Nina
    September 8, 2016

    Thank you for your nice pictures and sensible comments for Yuzuru’ FS at World. I share the same feelings as yours, I was there, on the upper deck, quite far from the ice. I was so sad, so depressed for him that day. But it is over now. We are looking at the future, at the new season, at the Olympics in 2018. I am looking to see him skate at Autumn Classic hopefully, if not at Skate Canada in Mississauga.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ecovail
    September 8, 2016

    Hello again from Japan.
    First of all I just want to thank you to write this diary. I know it was not the most fun thing to do. But from your photos , words, they touched me so much.
    I was really happy to read your thoughts. And so wonderful to see you understand that Yuzu`s respect for his national flag and it connects to the way of his living and report that to the world!

    I translated your post and share it on my own blog. People were so appreciative and deeply touched by your perspective. There are some massages from my readers to you.

    [Thank you for writing this. I felt the same way. We all wanted give him a big hug after the free program and at the podium. My heart still hurts to remember them. I am so really wishing that you can post the photos from podium next time you write about Yuzu.]

    [You made me watch his free after 6month. I was scared to see it I was running away from it, but when I read your blog post today, I finally made my decision to face what happened on that night. After words, I can move forward, getting ready to welcome this new season. You gave me a courage.]

    I cried after I read some of the comments that my reads wrote on my post.
    I know I said this many times already but let me, just one more time.
    On behalf of my blog readers, thank you!

    And I leave my blog link today.
    Now I am working on translation pretty seriously, once season starts, I want to listen and write all the words that these commentators talk about Yuzu and translate them.
    Wish me a luck♡

    OK, that`s all for now.
    Go Yuzu Go! Doki Doki!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      September 8, 2016

      Ecovail…thank you so much for forwarding those comments. I am very flattered. They are very sweet!!

      Goodluck with your blog translations!

      Like

  6. Yumiko Yoshida
    September 10, 2016

    Hello from Japan.
    Ecovail helped me to write this comment. Because I really wanted to express how deeply thankful I am about what you wrote somehow . As well as sharing those wonderful photos. After I read, I could actually feel the pain he had and imagined his suffering vividly.
    It`s been a while after that competition but my heart still hurts when I think about what happened.
    I am praying every day for him to be free from the pain, physically and mentally.
    I am so happy that you write. So lucky to be able to read your blog.
    There are many fans of you in Japan thanking you!

    (Thanks! Ecovail!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      September 10, 2016

      Thank you Yumiko!! I am very happy people enjoy my blog. I love writing about Yuzu!! Take care!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2016 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 668,212 hits
