SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: 2016 Worlds Practice 3: The T-shirt Practice

I originally was going to post pictures from the Short Program next, but after looking at my photos from Practice #3: The T-shirt Practice, I could not contain my excitement of the photos I took, so I will post these photos first!

None of these photos are cropped or photoshopped in any way.  I was really excited to see them, and I think my dad and sister would be very proud of me and my first time shooting sports photography!!

Warmups started and it was the first time we saw Yuzu wearing a mask at Worlds.

DSC06881

One of Yuzu’s first jumping passes during warmup didn’t go as planned.  This was a quad salchow attempt where he stumbled a bit into the boards.  Yuzu didn’t hit the boards that hard so he just whipped around the ice and attempted the jump again.

DSC06882

Here is Yuzu regrouping and trying it again.  He was not successful this attempt either, but the quad salchows got better as practice wore on.

DSC06891

Ok, here is a moment after Yuzu took his warm up jacket off, and surprised everyone with a Mizuno t-shirt instead of his normal Under Amour training gear.  We found out later that he simply forgot to pack his UA training shirt in his bag that morning.

DSC06981

Building up momentum and speed, and getting the feel of the ice.  Loving the hair!!

DSC07112

Reverse angle hydro blade!!

DSC07191

As I mentioned in a previous blog entry, when Yuzu went into this spin, I started to take the picture(s).  I held onto the shutter for dear life as it was capturing these wonderful positions!!  I posted this picture before on my blog, but it is worthy to be posted here again!!  My understanding is that the bandage on his chest is just covering a heart rate monitor of some sort.

DSC07232

Part of the same combination spin!  And, evidence that Mikhail Kolyada was on the ice at the same time as Yuzu.

DSC07245

Love this next shot.  It wasn’t a great practice for Yuzu but he was working hard throughout.

DSC07279

Taking a moment to reflect on the last jumping pass.

DSC07290

This is my favorite photo of the entire 8,000+ photos I took that week.  I finally got the right “depth of field” exposure.  I love how you can see the one bead of sweat down the side of his cheek.

DSC07327

Entrance into a triple axel.  All of Yuzu’s triple axels were beautiful.

DSC07343

Nearing the end of the final practice at Worlds.  It was such a fantastic experience watching an amazing talent go to work.  I could spend hours just watching live practices.

DSC07617

Another spin during cool down.  Full extension from head/hair to toe!

DSC07634

Part of that same combination spin.

DSC07649

And he is still going!!!  At this point, I didn’t know if my camera was going to blow up on me or not but I held on to the shutter button as long as I could and got some great shots.

DSC07682

So cool, so casual.  The world is watching his every move, and he’s taking it all in stride.

DSC07704

Coming to center ice to take one final bow.

DSC07711

 

These are some of my favorite photos of the week in Boston.  I still remember it like it was yesterday.  If you missed my photos from my previous 2016 Worlds posts, here are the links:

https://sportymags.wordpress.com/2016/08/15/yuzuru-hanyu-2016-worlds-practice-2/

https://sportymags.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/yuzuru-hanyu-2016-worlds-practice-1/

 

Next up:  Short Program

 

Go Yuzu Go!!!  Doki Doki!!

IMG_3098

5 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: 2016 Worlds Practice 3: The T-shirt Practice

  1. Sindy
    August 20, 2016

    Because we now know of his injury, I find myself looking for clues of any discomfort he had at these sessions. And indeed, if you look closely at some of these shots, especially those he is just standing still, you will notice that he is putting his weight on his right leg quite a bit. With his landing leg having to endure all those jumps, I would think he would want protect it more by sharing the load with the left leg. So seeing him leaning on his right leg like that raise concerns as to just how much is the right leg taking on as well.

    These posts are great. Keep them coming!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ecovail
    August 21, 2016

    Hello, again from Japan!
    I went to Makuhari today to not to see the Ice show obviously, to watch one of the biggest rock festival in Japan.

    Radiohead was the Headliner, it was absolutely awesome!
    There were so many Canadians there though so you came across into my mind and when I got home, I saw your new blog post! Very happy♡

    Sorry ..I know I talk a lot.

    The T-shirt Practice
    ↑ I love the title already.

    I could not contain my excitement of the photos I took, so I will post these photos first!

    ↑I understand.And I am glad that you were , so we could see them!

    All the pictures were amazing! And I feel little jealous to think about how close you were to Yuzu.
    But.. If I was there for his T-shirt Practice to actually see his stomach , I will probably pass out. So maybe that was good that I wasn`t be there. Hahaha.

    I am looking forward to read your next post as always!
    I translated and share your pictures to my blog readers after your last post.
    People liked it so much.
    You asked to put my blog link, I hope I can, but I am still little shy..Maybe sometimes in near future.

    Thank you again for your kindness about the link♡

    Go Yuzu Go!!! Doki Doki!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      August 21, 2016

      Thanks so much for your kind words!! I am happy you are enjoying the photos!!

      Like

  3. Jo de Souza (@JodeSouza64)
    August 22, 2016

    Thanks for the post and the pictures, makes us feel as if we were there with you.
    I remember that when I saw this training , I had a feeling that something was wrong with Yuzuru .
    I do not know , then assiti competition long program with op heart in hand ; a strange feeling haunted me .
    I did not understand why, after the wonderful presentation of Chopin .
    A right embrace Brazil .
    Your blog is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2016 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 180 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 591,359 hits
