SportyMags

Hey sports fans!! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a self admitted “rink rat” so a lot of this blog will be about figure skating and hockey, however as an ex-figure skater, ex-varsity athlete and a sports fan in general, I usually have thoughts and opinions about alot of different sports I follow, so visit often!

Yuzuru Hanyu: Expectations for Grand Prix Final

What are your expectations going into the Grand Prix Final?  As easy as it would be to have an expectation for Yuzu to repeat his “record breaking performances” again this upcoming weekend at the Grand Prix Final,  while I think Yuzu can achieve 300+ many more times, I don’t have the expectation that every time he skates, he will break the record.  NHK 2015 was an unbelievable moment in time, a history making weekend.  It will be treasured by many, but none more so than by Yuzu himself (with Pooh and Brian).  I will always wish for Yuzu to have great performances and hope he repeats as GPF champion for the third straight time, but as long as he reaches the top of the podium with good performances, I will be a happy Yuzu fan!

Nothing drives Yuzu to be stronger, faster, and more brilliant than the sight of one of his fellow skaters doing well.  It took 4 years of senior competition for Yuzu to lay down those perfect performances all in one competition.  It would be incredible for Yuzu to reach the same scoring heights as he did at NHK, or even beat his own world records but it’s not something that happens often, and that is why 2015 NHK Trophy weekend was so special!!

One thing I am very grateful for is that Yuzu broke these records at NHK Trophy, an ISU sanctioned event so that the world record scores count.  If Yuzu had done these performances at the Japan Nationals, then they wouldn’t have counted as world records.  So, Yuzu, if you want to break the records again, please do so at GPF or better yet, at Worlds!

Here is my dream podium for GPF.

1.  Yuzuru Hanyu
2.  Shoma Uno
3.  Javier Fernandez. (Although Boyang in bronze wouldn’t be a bad result)

I don’t think that another 300+ score for Yuzu is unattainable or overly optimistic now that Yuzu has proven to himself that he is capable of this score.  I am confident that he can re-write the record books with many 300+ scores.  So that is my wish for GPF, a score in the 300’s that will make Yuzu happy yet motivate him to be ready for Worlds!!

I can’t wait for this weekend!!  We are going to be watching some high flying action, and quads galore.  This is the new reality.  As much faith as I have in Yuzu, I will be watching with baited breathe and nervousness!!

Go Yuzu Go!!   Doki Doki!
IMG_3098

17 comments on “Yuzuru Hanyu: Expectations for Grand Prix Final

  1. Ruth
    December 6, 2015

    I don’t think that another 300+ score for Yuzu is unattainable or overly optimistic no

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ruth
    December 6, 2015

    December the 7th, its Yuzu’s Birthday today in Japan. The entire country will be filled with joy cerabtrating this special day Yuzu was born! I thank you for supporting Yuzu with such a high respect. While I am always enjoying your posts about Yuzu, I am a bit disappointed today for knowing you are not expecting him hits 300+ again. Yuzu always has this “I can do!” attitude, and the special quality he has is that he wants to achieve his goal not only for himself but for people who support him, which he alway shows his utmost appreciation. He constantly said he receive a lot of power from his supporters. Our heartfelt supports and expectation has been giving him more effort. As a fighter, you would be very disappointed if you were told that “I am not expecting you can do it “300+” again.” Yuzu said that he loves to push himself to the corner where he can pull more power in him. Yuzu will never stop challenging higher and higher his performance, and as well we will never stop believing in him that he can do it again and again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      December 6, 2015

      I think you have misunderstood my comment. I have added a couple words in the original post to clarify my thought. I said i didnt expect him to repeat another record breaking performance again each time (ex: 322+ ). I truly hope that he will always get over 300 points each competition, but i think that an expectation to achieve this every competition is a bit unrealistic, given that I have some skating experience.

      I truly believe he will have additional scores in the 300+ range, and hope he does many times, but 322+ is hard to achieve. I hope I didnt offend you.

      Like

      • Ruth
        December 6, 2015

        I am sorry that if you think that I was offended, which is not at all. You never knew how much i and all of fans have been encouraged by your strong ever changed believe in Yuzu, giving always optimistic views under any circumstances with “go Yuzu go!” You were the NO 1 supporter I have ever read in any blogs. My expectation to you was too big to hear your such statement. Any other professional commentators will be allowed to say that no one can exceed the 322 score, but not you in me. I wanted you to say that only Yuzu will break his own score as you always have been. I will never be a fan of Patric who is nothing but mediocre. He sounded like ” I will do a clean performance first to see what kind of score I get. Then if I win I will keep dong the same thing not challenging adding difficult yet risky jumps. “. On the other hand, yuzu’ s challenge was that he added more difficult jumps, even though he never skated clean both programs before. THAT is our man has a super human attitude and make is often. He lives in the NOW, not in the result. He has that artist attitude In his high spirited sportsmanship. please forgive my ray comments.

        Like

      • sportymags
        December 6, 2015

        😊 😊. Then we both believe the same thing, that Yuzu is the only one that could ever break his own records. I mentioned in a previous post that I don’t see anyone else in the mens field that can break his records. Nothing has changed there. Go Yuzu Go!!

        PS: I definitely want him to break 322.40 (plus the individual SP, and LP records) and set the bar so high that Yuzu’s records will live on for all time.

        Like

  3. Ruth
    December 6, 2015

    Sorry that please disregard my first comments, which I was going to comment based on your that particular comments. I THINK Yuzu can do score 300+ many more times!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      December 6, 2015

      I totally agree with you – he has the talent to hit over 300 many times. Please read my reply to your other message.

      Like

  4. Liam Nemo
    December 6, 2015

    He can do it. NHK is just the beginning. Yuzuru is maturing in both his body and mind, he will only get stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pee Jay
    December 6, 2015

    Really enjoyed your blog, again! My pic for the final would be: (1) Hanyu, (2) Fernandez, (3) Uno, and (4) Jin. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ruth
    December 6, 2015

    Thank you so much for your kind words! Whatever Yuzu does and says catch so much attention from his followers and Japanese medias who are crazy for Yuzu’s each step and word because he shows us not only how to win but, most importantly, how to live with integrity and dignitynomus. He has the exceptional role model quality comes with his sensational talent in sports. His crazy challenge in NHK in such a short period was decided by him against his coach and others. He knows there is nobody there after all but himself, only enemy if ever exist. He has the quality, which is resemble to Samurai apirit and Zen master, and it distinguish him from other skaters.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yuzurist-Japan
    December 7, 2015

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, YUZU (Today is December 7, he became 21 years old!)
    About your dream podium, I also hope that Shoma will be a silver medalist this time. He came up to Japan’s No. 2 position very quickly, because (I’ve heard) he mastered a quadruple jump and triple axel in a short period. According to Shoma himself, he has “hate-to-lose” character (like Yuzu) but is very shy (like Kozuka?). Also, he is not happy about his being so short (only 159cm). Indeed, he is the shortest Japanese boy star at the moment, and probably will be the shortest star in the World 2016?
    I am wondering something: Shoma is a very good jumper, but is it possible that he needs to face some technical problems because of his short height? (to Sportymags or anyone who has professional knowledge)

    Like

    • sportymags
      December 7, 2015

      Hi: any challenges Shoma might have with jumps would not be due to his height, but rather it would be his jumping technique. He has pretty solid technique but the swinging of his free leg on his landings drives me nuts. It detracts from the beauty of his landings when it happens. But, again, it has nothing to do with his height.

      He will never look as lean and graceful as a taller, thinner skater due to his height, so that may influence his music choices…but again, he should not have “technical” issues due to height.

      Like

      • Yuzurist-Japan
        December 8, 2015

        Thank you for your kind reply. So probably Shoma needs to learn how to land on the ice more gracefully. That will bring him more GOE points. Thinking about height, Daisuke Takahashi is not so tall either (165cm), but he is so expressive that he can use any kind of music. We will see how Shoma will widen his range of expressions so that his choice of music will not be limited. It could be a bit difficult to a typically shy Japanese boy like him.
        Chao!

        Like

  8. Teresa
    December 7, 2015

    Thx for the analysis, Margaret, always a pleasure to read.
    haha, so P Chan is not on the prediction list. Unfortunately D10 is not in the finals, but it seems he is recovering quite well (from what I saw in the Golden Spin). The 2nd -4th places are highly competitive. Really can’t wait longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • sportymags
      December 7, 2015

      It will be interesting to see a healthy D10 at Worlds. He is a wild card in the mix for sure!!

      Like

  9. Yuzurist-Japan
    December 8, 2015

    In my reply, I mean Ciao, not Chao. Sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2015 by in Figure Skating and tagged .
Follow SportyMags on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 318 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 1,235,694 hits